BIG BLOCK FORD
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Engine Build Suggestions for First Time Builder? 1976 F150

3 posters

Go down

Engine Build Suggestions for First Time Builder? 1976 F150 Empty Engine Build Suggestions for First Time Builder? 1976 F150

Post  1985 Bronco May 28th 2019, 9:31 pm

I have a 1976 Ford F150 2wd with a 460/C6. It has an Edelbrock 1405, Hedman long tube headers with 3 inch exhaust with an H pipe, and an HEI distributor.  Everything else is stock. The truck has 96K miles. I would like the truck to be a fun daily driver, with maybe an occasional pass down the drag strip. I have never built an engine before, and I don't have a huge budget, so I would just like to do some basic things. After doing some research, it looks like I should be doing a timing chain, cam, and an intake?

The Edelbrock Performer Intake (non RPM) is often suggested. What cam and timing chain should I go with? Will I be able to keep my 1405 carb and HEI distributor?  I would prefer to not have any head work done, is this possible? I don't have any specific HP goal, just more than I have now. Any idea how much all of this will cost? Any other suggestions?

1985 Bronco

Back to top Go down

Engine Build Suggestions for First Time Builder? 1976 F150 Empty Re: Engine Build Suggestions for First Time Builder? 1976 F150

Post  rmcomprandy May 28th 2019, 11:34 pm

1985 Bronco wrote:I have a 1976 Ford F150 2wd with a 460/C6. It has an Edelbrock 1405, Hedman long tube headers with 3 inch exhaust with an H pipe, and an HEI distributor.  Everything else is stock. The truck has 96K miles.  I would like the truck to be a fun daily driver, with maybe an occasional pass down the drag strip. I have never built an engine before, and I don't have a huge budget, so I would just like to do some basic things. After doing some research, it looks like I should be doing a timing chain, cam, and an intake?